What Werner & Mertz is doing

Stem the tide of trash with a new circular economy for plastics

An EMF study predicts a fourfold increase in global plastic production by the year 2050. In the next 30 years the amount of plastic trash in the world’s oceans also is expected to grow. If the global community does not organize plastic production, use and recycling by then, more plastic than fish by weight will be in the ocean in just a few decades.

Right now Werner & Mertz is engaged in organizing a genuine circular economy. The Recyclate Initiative was brought to life by Reinhard Schneider, CEO and owner of Werner & Mertz GmbH in 2012. The initiative sees used plastic not as waste, but rather as a source material from which new products can be created. So a new PET (polyethylene terephthalate) plastic bottle can be made from a used PET plastic bottle. The recycled and reused material is called “recyclates”.

Thanks to the Recyclate Initiative, Werner & Mertz has already brought to market more than 390 million PET bottles made from 100 percent recyclates. Twenty percent of the recyclates was obtained from the Yellow Bag household waste collection system. The successes of the Recyclate Initiative include conserving raw materials, reducing CO2 emissions and preventing waste.

Do without microplastic

It is apparent that the world’s oceans and coasts are being polluted by large pieces of plastic. Not as visible but just as serious are the problems caused by microplastic.

These small plastic pieces and fibers measuring less than five millimeters are tiny when produced (primary microplastic) for use in cosmetics, hand soap and cleaning products or when created as plastic trash disintegrates (secondary microplastic).

Werner & Mertz shows with its Frosch brand that there’s no need for microplastic! The entire Frosch product range demonstrates its full ocean-friendly cleaning and care effect without microplastic.

Integrally sustainable

Werner & Mertz follows the closed loop principle from product development and manufacturing to the bottling and use of our products.

Every single step should aid and ensure recyclability – not only of the packaging. As an integrally sustainable company, we get our suppliers involved. With the raw material passport we developed in-house, we collect information about all supplied raw materials and other ingredients, providing much more data about raw material than required by law.

On the search for alternatives

No doubt about it – there’s always room for improvement. That’s why Werner & Mertz conducts research into alternatives for substances that do not yet match our understanding of sustainability.

One example is synthetic polymers, which are criticized for their environmental impact. We search for and develop natural alternatives like chitosan. Since 2008 we have been using this bionic substance, which has outstanding waterproofing properties. It protects treated surfaces and textiles from moisture like the ladybug’s elytra, the protective coating over the wings. Dew and rain simple bead up and roll off.

Das tut Werner & Mertz

Die Müllflut eindämmen durch eine neue Kunststoffwirtschaft

Eine EMF Studie sagt die Vervierfachung der globalen Kunststoffproduktion bis zum Jahr 2050 voraus. Parallel dazu steigt die Menge an Plastikmüll in den Weltmeeren. Gelingt es bis dahin nicht, die Kunststoffproduktion, Nutzung und Verwertung in Wertstoffkreisläufen zu organisieren, schwimmt in wenigen Jahrzehnten mehr Plastik als Fisch in den Ozeanen.

Genau an diesem Punkt – eine echte Kreislaufwirtschaft zu organisieren – setzt Werner & Mertz an. Von Reinhard Schneider, dem geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter und Inhaber der Werner & Mertz GmbH ging 2012 der Impuls zur Recyclat-Initiative aus. Eine Initiative, die Altplastik nicht als Müll sieht, sondern als Ausgangsmaterial, um daraus neuwertige Produkte zu schaffen: So wird aus einer PET-Plastikflasche wieder eine PET-Flasche. Recyclat nennt sich das wiederaufbereitete Material.

Dank der Recyclat-Initiative hat Werner & Mertz inzwischen über 370 Millionen PET-Flaschen zu 100 % aus Recyclat auf den Markt gebracht. 20 % dieses Recyclats wurde aus dem Sammelsystem Gelber Sack gewonnen. Die Erfolge der Recyclat-Initiative sparen Rohstoffe, senken den CO 2-Ausstoß und vermeiden Abfälle.

Verzicht auf Mikroplastik

So offensichtlich die Vermüllung der Meere und Küsten durch große Plastikteile ist. So groß sind die Probleme, die Mikroplastik verursacht:

Diese Plastikteile und Fasern kleiner als 5 Millimeter werden von vornherein schon so winzig produziert (primäres Mikroplastik) bspw. für Kosmetika, Handseifen, Reinigungsmittel oder sie entstehen durch den Zerfall von Plastikmüll (sekundäres Mikroplastik).

Werner & Mertz zeigt mit seiner Marke Frosch: Es geht auch ohne Mikroplastik! Das komplette Frosch-Produktsortiment entfaltet seine volle Reinigungs- und Pflegewirkung meeresschonend ohne Mikroplastik.

Ganzheitlich Nachhaltig

Das Kreislaufprinzip prägt Werner & Mertz von der Produktentwicklung, der Herstellung bis zur Abfüllung und der Nutzung unserer Produkte.

Jeder einzelne Schritt soll die Recyclingfähigkeit sichern, ja sogar fördern und das nicht nur bei den Verpackungen. Als ganzheitlich nachhaltig handelndes Unternehmen beziehen wir unsere Lieferanten mit ein: Mithilfe eines eigens entwickelten Rohstoffpasses erhalten wir Informationen über gelieferte Rohstoffe und Materialien, die weit über die gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Standard-Rohstoffinformationen hinausgehen.

Alternativen finden

Keine Frage, Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten gibt es immer. Deswegen forscht Werner & Mertz intensiv nach Alternativen für Substanzen, die noch nicht unserem nachhaltigen Selbstverständnis entsprechen.

Sogenannte synthetisch Polymere werden wegen ihrer Umweltauswirkungen kritisch diskutiert. Wir suchen und entwickeln natürliche Alternativen wie Chitosan: Seit 2008 ist dieser bionische Wirkstoff mit hervorragenden Imprägniereigenschaften bei uns in der Verwendung. Damit behandelte Oberflächen und Textilien sind vor Feuchtigkeit geschützt, so wie ein Marienkäfer, bei dem Tau und Regen von den Flügeldeckeln perlt.