Awards

The German Packaging Award, World Star Packaging Award, German Sustainability Award and German Federal Ecodesign Award are just some of the honors the Recyclate Initiative innovations have received. Our industry associates and consumers have expressed their approval of the idea of upcycling materials from post-conumer waste collections with our partners along a unique recycling chain. 

The Recyclate Initiative concept is based on the components of high-tech innovation, upcycling, new processes and formulas, cooperation and “Open Innovation” development.  It’s all about high-quality processing of plastic from the Yellow Bag collection system into recyclates that can be re-used to make new packaging. This closed cycle principle ought to prevent plastic from ending up in incinerators, landfills or the ocean. Success is building. The achievements of the Recyclate Initiative, which include the production of more than 390 million PET bottles of 100% used plastic, are now recognized around the world as “Best Practice”.

World Star Packaging Award 2020

The international World Star Packaging Award issued by the World Packaging Organisation (WPO) is open exclusively to winners of national packaging competitions whose packaging is already on the market. The award is given in 12 main categories and four special categories.

Werner & Mertz, in a cooperative project with the global packaging company Mondi, won the World Star Packaging Award 2020 in the Household category for the first completely recyclable pouch of polyethylene with removable label.

“The highly innovative 100 percent recyclable pouch has cleared sorting and recycling hurdles on its way to genuine recyclability. […] That is Cradle-to-Cradle!”, said the jury for the WPO competition about its decision.

German Packaging Award 2019

Every year the international cross-industry competition for the German Packaging Award recognizes ground-breaking solutions and developments for packaging, designs, materials and logistic solutions. Since 1963, an independent jury chooses winners in five categories. The organizer is the German Packaging Institute (DVI) and the patron is the Federal Minister of Economics and Technology.

In 2019 Werner & Mertz received the German Packaging Award for the completely recyclable stand-up pouch in the Sustainability category and for the shower gel bottles with 100% HDPE recylates from the Yellow Bag in the New Material category.

Pack the Future Award 2018

The Pack the Future Award, organized by Elipso (French association for plastic packaging) and the IK (German association for plastic packaging), is awarded each year during the all4pack trade fair in Paris. The winner of the award qualifies automatically for the World Star Awards presented by the World Packaging Organisation.

In 2018 Werner & Mertz was awarded the prize in the Ecodesign category along with Heinz  Plastics Böhm for the development of caps made of 100% recycled polypropylene.

World Star Packaging Award 2018

Also in 2018 Werner & Mertz and ALPLA were honored with the World Star Packaging Award in the Household category for the world’s first bottles made of 100% post-consumer HDPE recyclates from the Yellow Bag. The bottles are used for the brands emsal floor care and green care Professional.

The competition’s judges praised the extraordinary pioneering work in support of genuine material recycling and the protection of limited resources. They also praised the developers for maintaining the products’ familiar appearance and the quality of the bottles, which they said was equal to that of bottles made with virgin material.

Plastics Recycling Award Europe 2018

The Plastics Recycling Awards Europe are awarded in five categories annually during the Plastics Recycling Show Europe in Amsterdam. The awards’ purpose is to underscore the significance of recycled plastic products and recognize the efforts of the European plastic recycling industry.

In 2018 the award in the category Recycled Plastic Packaging Product of the Year went to Werner & Mertz and The Green Dot for the emsal bottles made of 100% HDPE recyclates obtained from the Yellow Bag.

German Packaging Award 2017

In 2017 Werner & Mertz received the German Packaging Award in the New Material category for the flip-top caps made of 100% polypropylene recyclates.

Pack the Future Award 2017

Another honor for Werner & Mertz in 2017 was the Pack the Future Award in the Ecodesign category for bottles made of 100% HDPE recyclates from the Yellow Bag.

German Sustainability Award 2016

In the REWE Group consumer voting in 2016, Werner & Mertz took the first three spots and won the German Sustainability Award for non-food entries in the category “Germany’s Most Sustainable Products”. In the nationwide survey consumers selected the Frosch brand products as the top three most sustainable products.

German Packaging Award 2016

In 2016 Werner & Mertz took double honors in the German Packaging Award – in the Sustainability category and also in Gold for bottles made of 100% HDPE recyclates from the Yellow Bag.

Cradle to Cradle Products Innovator Award 2015

At a ceremony in New York Werner & Mertz received the international Cradle to Cradle Products Innovator Award in 2015 for its Frosch and green care Professional brands. The coveted prize from the Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute, a non-profit organization with headquarters in San Francisco, is awarded to industrial companies that manage their production according to the Cradle to Cradle® principle in closed loops for maximum sustainability. The award winners are hailed as pioneers in their industries.

German Packaging Award 2014

In 2014 Werner & Mertz received for the first time the Special Prize of the German Packaging Award for its Recyclate Initiative and the award Best Packaging 2014 in the Laundry and Cleaning Products category.

ECR-Award: GS1 Germany 2014

Every year the Efficient Customer Response (ECR) Award honors ideas and innovations that companies, in cooperation with others, develop into products or processes characterized by a high degree of customer orientation and a strong focus on sustainable business. The highly respected award is presented annually at a ceremony in Nuremberg attended by about 400 guests from top management at leading industrial and commercial companies.

In 2014 the Recyclate Initiative received the ECR award for the outstanding collaborative work along the supply chain.

Federal Ecodesign 2014

Since 2012 the Federal Environment Ministry and the Federal Environment Agency have promoted the annual Federal Ecodesign Award to make the public aware of ecological design’s contribution to environmental protection and to encourage innovation in this area.

The Federal Ecodesign Award puts environmental assessment and design evaluation on equal footing and showcases innovative products, services and ideas of outstanding ecological and design quality.

In 2014 Werner & Mertz received the Federal Ecodesign Award for a particularly innovative and sustainable packaging design that came from the Recyclate Initiative. Federal Environment Minister Barbara Hendricks presented the respected prize to Reinhard Schneider in Berlin.

Auszeichnungen

Deutscher Verpackungspreis, World Star Packaging Award, Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis, Bundespreis Ecodesign: Die Innovationen im Rahmen der Recyclat-Initiative sind mit vielen Preisen ausgezeichnet worden. Die Idee des Upcyclings von haushaltsnahen Sammlungen in Verbindung mit Partnern in einer bisher einmaligen Wertstoffkette ist bei Branchenpartnern und Verbrauchern auf gute Resonanz gestoßen.

Das Konzept der Recyclat-Initiative basiert auf den Komponenten High-Tech-Innovation, Upcycling, neuen Prozessen/Rezepturen, Kooperationen sowie dem Gedanken der „Open Innovation“. Es geht darum, dass Kunststoffe aus der Gelben-Sack-Sammlung hochwertig aufbereitet werden, damit die so gewonnenen Recyclate wieder in neuen Verpackungen eingesetzt werden. Durch dieses Kreislaufprinzip soll verhindert werden, dass das Plastik in der Müllverbrennung oder gar am Ende auf Deponien oder im Meer landet. Mit Erfolg: Mittlerweile gelten die Errungenschaften der Recyclat-Initiative mit alleine über 390 Millionen PET-Flaschen aus 100% Altplastik weltweit als „Best Practice“.

World Star Packaging Award 2020

Beim internationalen World Star Packaging Award der World Packaging Organisation (WPO) sind ausschließlich Sieger nationaler Verpackungswettbewerbe zugelassen, deren Verpackungen bereits auf dem Markt sind. Der Preis wird jährlich in zwölf Hauptkategorien und vier Sonderkategorien vergeben.

2020 hat Werner & Mertz ein Kooperationsprojekt mit dem globalen Verpackungsunternehmen Mondi erfolgreich eingereicht: Der erste voll recyclingfähige Beutel aus Polyethylen (PE) mit abnehmbarer Banderole erhält den World Star Packaging Award 2020 in der Kategorie „Household“.

„Der hochinnovative, zu 100 Prozent recycelbare Beutel nimmt mehrere Sortier- und Recyclinghürden auf dem Weg zu echter Recyclingfähigkeit. […] Das ist Cradle-to-Cradle!“ – begründet die Wettbewerbsjury der World Packaging Organization (WPO) ihre Entscheidung.

Deutscher Verpackungspreis 2019

Der internationale, branchen- und materialienübergreifende Leistungswettbewerb Deutscher Verpackungspreis wird jährlich mit dem Ziel vergeben, zukunftsweisende Lösungen und Entwicklungen für Verpackungen zu prämieren. Er wird von einer unabhängigen Jury seit 1963 jedes Jahr in fünf Kategorien vergeben. Ausrichter des Deutschen Verpackungspreises, der unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundesministers für Wirtschaft und Energie steht, ist das Deutsche Verpackungsinstitut (DVI).

2019 wurde Werner & Mertz für den vollständig recyclingfähigen Standbodenbeutel in der Kategorie „Nachhaltigkeit“ sowie Duschgelflaschen mit 100 % HDPE-Recyclat aus der Quelle „Gelber Sack“ in der Kategorie „Neues Material“ mit dem Deutschen Verpackungspreis gewürdigt.

Pack the Future Award 2018

Der Pack the Future Award wird organisiert von Elipso (Französischer Verband für Kunststoffverpackungen) und der IK Industrievereinigung Kunststoffverpackungen und wird jährlich im Rahmen der Messe all4pack in Paris vergeben. Die Gewinner sind automatisch qualifiziert für die World Star Awards der World Packaging Organisation WPO.

2018 erhielt Werner & Mertz den Preis in der Kategorie „Ecodesign“ zusammen mit Heinz Plastics Böhm für die Entwicklung von Verschlusskappen aus 100 % recyceltem Polypropylen.

World Star Packaging Award 2018

Ebenfalls im Jahr 2018 wurde Werner & Mertz zusammen mit ALPLA für den World Star Packaging Award in der Kategorie „Household“ prämiert: für die weltweit ersten Flaschen aus 100 % Post-Consumer HDPE-Recyclat aus der Quelle „Gelber Sack“ der Marken emsal Bodenpflege und green care Professional.

Die Jury lobte die außerordentliche Pionierleistung zugunsten echter Materialkreisläufe und der Schonung von endlichen Ressourcen. Darüber hinaus würdigte die Jury die Beibehaltung des gewohnten Erscheinungsbildes und der Qualität der Flaschen ohne Einschränkung der Produktsicherheit im Vergleich zu Flaschen aus Rohöl.

Plastics Recycling Award Europe 2018

Der Plastics Recycling Award Europe wird im Rahmen der Fachausstellung Plastics Recycling Show Europe in Amsterdam jährlich in fünf Kategorien verliehen. Sie sollen die Bedeutung von Kunststoffrecyclingprodukten stärken und damit die Anstrengungen der europäischen Kunststoffrecyclingindustrie würdigen.

2018 ging der Award in der Kategorie „Recycled Plastic Packaging Product of the Year“ für die Emsal-Flaschen aus 100 % HDPE-Recyclat aus der Quelle „Gelber Sack“ an Werner & Mertz und Der Grüne Punkt.

Deutscher Verpackungspreis 2017

Auch 2017 erhielt Werner & Mertz den Deutschen Verpackungspreis in der Kategorie „Neues Material“ für Klappscharnier-Verschlüsse aus 100% Polypropylen-Recyclat.

Pack the Future Award 2017

Eine weitere Auszeichnung für Werner & Mertz im Jahr 2017 erfolgte mit dem Pack the Future Award in der Kategorie „Ecodesign“ für Flaschen aus 100 % HDPE-Recyclat aus der Quelle „Gelber Sack“.

Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2016

Im REWE Group-Verbrauchervoting hat Werner & Mertz 2016 gleich die ersten drei Plätze belegt und ist dafür mit dem deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis in der Kategorie „Deutschlands nachhaltigste Produkte“ im Bereich Non Food ausgezeichnet worden. In einer bundesweiten Umfrage wählten die Verbraucher die Produkte der Marke Frosch zu den Top Drei der nachhaltigsten Produkte.

Deutscher Verpackungspreis 2016

2016 wurde Werner & Mertz doppelt durch den Deutschen Verpackungspreis prämiert – in der Kategorie „Nachhaltigkeit“ und zusätzlich mit dem Verpackungspreis in Gold für Flaschen aus 100 % HDPE-Recyclat aus der Quelle „Gelber Sack“.

Cradle to Cradle Products Innovator Award 2015

In New York wurde Werner & Mertz 2015 für seine Marken Frosch und green care Professional mit dem internationalen „Cradle to Cradle Products Innovator Award“ ausgezeichnet. Der renommierte internationale Preis wird von einer Jury von internen und externen Fachleuten des Cradle to Cradle Innovation Institute mit Sitz in San Francisco an herausragende Unternehmen vergeben, die ihre Produktion nach dem Cradle to Cradle®-Prinzip in geschlossenen Kreisläufen im Sinne einer maximalen Nachhaltigkeit führen und so als Vorreiter in ihrer Branche gelten.

Deutscher Verpackungspreis 2014

2014 erhielt Werner & Mertz erstmalig den Deutschen Verpackungspreis als Sonderpreis für die Recyclat-Initiative sowie die Auszeichnung „Beste Verpackung 2014“ in der Kategorie Wasch-, Putz- und Reinigungsmittel.

ECR-Award: GS1 Germany 2014

Jährlich prämiert der ECR-Award die Ideen und Innovationen von Unternehmen, die in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Partnern Produkte oder Prozesse entwickeln, die sich durch eine hohe Kundenorientierung und einen starken Fokus auf nachhaltiges Wirtschaften auszeichnen. Der renommierte Preis wird jährlich in Nürnberg im Rahmen einer feierlichen Gala mit rund 400 Gästen aus dem Top-Management der führenden Industrie- und Handelsunternehmen verliehen.

2014 wurde die Recyclat-Initiative für herausragende Leistungen einer partnerschaftlich optimierten Wertschöpfungskette mit dem ECR-Award prämiert.

Bundespreis Ecodesign 2014

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign wird seit 2012 jährlich vom Bundesumweltministerium und Umweltbundesamt ausgelobt, um das Potential von Ecodesign in den öffentlichen Fokus zu rücken und Innovationen auf diesem Gebiet zu fördern.

Der Bundespreis Ecodesign stellt Umwelt- und Designbewertung gleichberechtigt nebeneinander und zeichnet innovative Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Konzepte aus, die sich durch eine herausragende ökologische Qualität, einen innovativen Ansatz und durch eine hohe Designqualität auszeichnen.
2014 erhielt Werner & Mertz den Bundespreis Ecodesign für ein besonders innovatives und nachhaltiges Verpackungsdesign im Rahmen der Recyclat-Initiative. Bundesumweltministerin Dr. Barbara Hendricks überreichte Reinhard Schneider den renommierten Preis in Berlin.