Microplastic – big problems

A barely visible threat

Plastic litter that trashes the coastlines and covers the beaches is an obvious problem for Nature, the environment, fishing and tourism. The tiny plastic pieces of less than five millimeters which can hardly be seen with the naked eye, however, cause gigantic problems in the oceans.

The microplastic pieces and fibers are tiny when produced for use in cosmetics, hand soap and cleaning products (primary microplastic) or created when big pieces of plastic waste break apart and degrade (secondary microplastic). Still another source is cigarette butts thrown overboard or onto beaches and frayed by water and waves.

To date, microplastic has been found everywhere on Earth, in probes from the polar icecap to the floor of the Mediterranean Sea at a depth of 3,500 meters and elsewhere.

YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Microplastic confused with food

When microscopic pieces of plastic are swallowed by fish, oysters, mussels or other marine life, they can penetrate the digestive tract and accumulate in the animals’ bodies. It is possible that the plastic pieces, covered with harmful substances or environmental toxins, impair the animals’ growth.

A solution to the problem is unlikely as the great quantity of plastic already in the ocean will take several centuries to disintegrate into secondary microplastic.

Improvements, however, can be made by doing without microplastic in many applications. Cosmetic products, for example, can be made with natural ingredients instead of with plastic.

Primary microplastic – do without wherever possible

The German Environment Agency (UBA) estimates that 3.125 tons of primary microplastic are used per year in Europe for cosmetic products such as toothpaste, hand cleaners, peeling lotions, sunscreens and the like. The quantity would fill 54 railway freight cars. The use in cosmetic products amounts to four percent of primary microplastic.

We can do without microplastic.

Secondary microplastic – Out of sight, not out of mind

Secondary microplastic can be prevented only if the flood of waste into the oceans is stopped. At some point, the marine litter from countries in Europe alone disintegrates to yield millions of tons of secondary microplastic. The problem is enormous even though we cannot see the tiny little pieces of plastic. According to new studies, a large portion of plastic litter, weighed down by algae or microorganisms, sinks and ends up as microplastic in the deep sea. So it is out of our sight, but still in the world’s oceans.

The solution is on land

The conditions on land have to be improved if we are to prevent ever-growing amounts of plastic from accumulating in the ocean year after year. One way is to set up closed loop systems for the production, use and material recycling of plastic packaging.

 

Less plastic marine debris means less secondary microplastic created by the break up of large plastic pieces.

A closed circular economy for plastic is the solution, according to the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the World Economic Forum, international foundations and renowned consulting firms.

A true circular economy is needed

In 2012 the Recyclate Initiative from Werner & Mertz began working on a solution involving genuine recycling of PET and other plastics from the Yellow Bag in order to conserve raw materials and reduce waste.

The Recyclate Initiative has taken a step toward a true circular economy by inviting others to follow its example and to become Initiative partners.

Mikroplastik - große Probleme

Kaum zu sehen und doch sehr problematisch

Plastikmüll, der im Meer schwimmt, die Küsten verdreckt und Strände überdeckt ist offensichtlich problematisch für Natur und Umwelt, für Fischfang und Tourismus. Doch auch Plastikteile kleiner als fünf Millimeter, die mit bloßem Auge kaum zu erkennen sind, verursachen im Meer riesige Probleme.

Dieses Mikroplastik wird entweder von vornherein schon so winzig produziert – man spricht dann vom primären Mikroplastik. Oder die winzigen Teile und Kunststofffasern entstehen, wenn großer Plastikmüll zerbricht und zerbröselt – sogenanntes sekundäres Mikroplastik. Es entsteht auch, wenn beispielsweise Zigarettenstummel über Bord oder am Strand weggeworfen werden und im Wasser zerfasern.

Mikroplastik wurde inzwischen in allen Teilen der Erde nachgewiesen: in Proben des ewigen Eises, genauso wie in 3.500 Meter Tiefe im Mittelmeer und an vielen anderen Orten.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Mikroplastik mit Futter verwechselt

Werden mikroskopisch kleine Plastikteilchen von Fischen, Austern, Muscheln oder anderen Lebewesen im Wasser verschluckt, können sie durch die Wände der Verdauungsorgane dringen und sich dauerhaft in den Tieren ansammeln. Häufig haften an den Plastikteilchen Schadstoffe oder Umweltgifte, die zusammen mit dem Plastik das Wachstum der Tiere beeinträchtigen können.

Lösen lässt sich das Problem kaum noch, denn zu viel Plastik schwimmt bereits im Meer, das über viele Jahrhunderte zu sekundärem sekundärem Mikroplastik zerfällt.

Verbesserungen sind trotzdem möglich, bspw. durch einen Verzicht auf primäres Mikroplastik: Kosmetische Produkte könnten ohne Plastik mit natürlichen Ersatzstoffen auskommen. Sie bieten sich auch in anderen Anwendungsbereichen an.

Primäres Mikroplastik – verzichten, wo immer möglich

Nach Schätzungen des Umweltbundesamtes (UBA) werden europaweit jährlich allein 3.125 Tonnen primäres Mikroplastik in kosmetischen Produkten, wie Zahncremes, Handreinigern, Peelings, Sonnenschutzmitteln u.a verwendet. Eine Menge, die 54 Güterwagenladungen der Bahn entspricht.

Der Verzicht auf Mikroplastik ist möglich.

Sekundäres Mikroplastik – Aus den Augen, nicht aus dem Sinn

Sekundäres Mikroplastik lässt sich nur vermeiden, wenn die Müllflut ins Meer gestoppt wird. Allein der marine Müll aus den Ländern Europas zerfällt irgendwann in mehrere Millionen Tonnen sekundäres Mikroplastik. Das Problem ist riesengroß, obwohl man die winzigen Plastikteilchen nicht sieht: Nach neuen Studien sinkt ein großer Teil des Plastikmülls – beschwert durch Algen oder Mikroorganismen – als Mikroplastik in die Tiefsee. So ist es zwar aus unseren Augen, aber noch immer in den Weltmeeren.

Die Lösung liegt an Land

Um zu verhindern, dass sich Jahr für Jahr größere Plastikmüllmengen im Meer sammeln, müssen die Verhältnisse vor allem an Land besser werden. Ein Weg sind geschlossene Systeme von Produktion, Nutzung und wertstofflicher Wiederverwertung von Kunststoffverpackungen.

Weniger Plastikmüll im Meer bedeutet auch weniger sekundäres Mikroplastik als Zerfallsprodukt großer Plastikteile.

Die Lösung sehen das Umweltprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP) genauso wie das Weltwirtschaftsforum, internationale Stiftungen und renommierte Beratungsunternehmen in einer geschlossenen Kreislaufwirtschaft für Plastik.

Echte Kreislaufwirtschaft ist notwendig

Die Recyclat-Initiative von Werner & Mertz hat bereits 2012 begonnen, eine Lösung voranzubringen: Echtes Recycling von PET und anderen Kunststoffen aus dem Gelben Sack, um Rohstoffe zu schonen und die Müllmengen zu vermindern.

Die Recyclat-Initiative ist ein Schritt Richtung echter Kreislaufwirtschaft. Sie lädt dazu ein, dem Beispiel zu folgen und Partner der Initiative zu werden.